The Fragility of Writing

writing-transformation-vulnerability-amyjalapenoOften it is presumed that a writer writes aloof and quite certain that she is invulnerable to evaluative pronouncements, however deeply embedded in her verse. Nothing could be further from the truth. It is in experiencing in oneself that an issue is an issue that it ever enters the playing field of investigative inquiry. Indeed, one might quite literally say that oblivion characterizes the state of mind for whom the unconcealed remains …well…concealed. Unearthing that which awaits retrieval presupposes engagement, and hence a state of being vulnerable to the elicit modes of being of which it is constitutive. Writers expose themselves to their readers. It is not just their arguments evaluated for soundness, their linguistic formulations that are dissected for their form and clarity, nor still assumptions and presuppositions that are identified. For though all of this may prove to be disheartening and potentially ego-deflating, it only really speaks to one’s cognitive comportment to one’s ideas; whereas, this experience of writing (and not all writing is created equal) rehearses the comportment of being in the world with others. So though I may offend, unnerve and plain right annoy my readers (none of which in itself is necessarily unwarranted or undesirable), I am never quite so fragile as when I expose myself in my writings. I guess I might characterize myself as self-reflective, confident, yet, fragile, and certainly prone to self-mockery and enjoy the hilarity that can often times be uncovered even in the most despairing experiences. This is what you – my Readers – may sometimes see in my posts.

2 thoughts on “The Fragility of Writing

  1. Have you ever offended, unnerved, or plain right annoyed any readers? That’s interesting. This whole self reflective post is interesting.
    I have to say, I am very good at self mockery and finding hilarity in almost anything. I have always found it to be an interesting encounter with people who only take themselves seriously.
    I am curious what inspired you to write this, if you don’t mind me asking?

    Like

  2. I have, actually. Interestingly enough they tend to be people I have known personally..which may be the result of taking matters, well, personally! Still, one can never know how anyone might take things, which is something (all joking aside) I am sensitive to.

    Like

Leave a Reply

